Main Menu


All Time Career Wins


Track Champions


2011 Montpelier Motor Speedway Results

July 30, 2011

 Ruefer Repeat In UMP Modified Action.  Anderson, Griffith, & Shrout Back To Montpelier Motor Speedway Victory Lane On July 30
When Jake Ruefer picked up the huge Double Header Classic win two weeks ago, it had been 7 years between Montpelier Motor Speedway UMP Modified feature wins.  Now with his successful return to the UMP Modifieds, Ruefer made the wait much shorter this time picking up his 2nd win in three weeks at the speedway besting a field of 24 cars.  The redraw for the feature found Ruefer and Bill Haager on the front row.  Ruefer jumped to a quick lead using the middle to high grove while five time track champion Todd Sherman worked his around Haager to grab the second position.  Green flag laps ticked away quickly as Sherman began to hunt down Ruefer searching a variety of lines.  On the final lap, Ruefer and Sherman were side by side in the final corner, but it wasn't enough as Ruefer was able to hang on to grab the feature win.  Sherman placed second with Bill Haager, Aaron Orr, and Bill Lewis rounding out the top 5.  John Halsey picked up the B Main win and heat wins went to Ruefer, Haager, and Lewis. 
In Super Stock action, Bluffton Ohio's Tony Anderson led wire to wire to pick up his 3rd win of the 2011 season.  Anderson jumped to a commanding lead from the drop of the green flag.  Jeff Matheny followed in tow as Lee Hobbs began to work his way up to the leaders from his third row starting position.  An intense battle ensued between Hobbs and Matheny as they began swapping positions for the runner up spot.   As the feature progressed, Matheny was able to make one last pass deep in the feature to secure the runner up spot over Hobbs. Al Grogg, Ohio's James Kepling and Luke Timmerman rounded out the top 6.  Heat races were won by Anderson and Matheny.  The win marked Anderson's 27th Super Stock career victory at the Montpelier Motor Speedway and is currently the all time win leader for the divison.    
The Mod Lite division found a familiar battle with Sheridan, Indiana's Gary Gipson and Hillsboro, Ohio's Gary Griffith competing for the Mod Lite victory. Gipson grabbed the lead early never leaving Griffith very far behind.  Gipson and Griffith battled for the top spot throughout the duration of the 15 lap feature, however, when the checkered flag waved, it was Griffith who was first to the stripe.  Elkhart's Chad Clay joined the action closely in the third position with Tim Vangundy and Willie McFarland in the fourth and fifth positions.  The heat race win went to Gipson. 
In Thunder Car action, Marion, Indiana's Jason Shrout led wire to wire to pick up the convincing feature win.  The win marked Shrout's second win in three weeks and his 7th career win at the speedway.  Portland, Indiana's Steve Mills and Travis Nichols finished second with Rick Frasure and Mike Hoagland rounding out the top 5.  Nichols and Shrout are currently locked into a tight points battle for the 2011 Track Championship with Nichols currently holds the advantage over Shrout by a mere 23 markers.


UMP Modifieds
                     24 Entries
 A Main:

1. F16	Jake Ruefer	Roanoke, Indiana
2. 65	Todd Sherman	Churubusco, Indiana
3. 92	Bill Haager	Richmond, Indiana
4. 188	Aaron Orr	Columbia City, Indiana
5. 7W	Bill Lewis	Montpelier, Indiana
6. 16H	Jim Haager	Richmond, Indiana
7. 18	Jim Coffey	
8. 22T	Tony Anderson	Bluffton, Ohio
9. 4S	Doug St Myers	Redkey, Indiana
10. 96	JR Ruefer	Roanoke, Indiana
11. 23C	Ryan Cripe	North Manchester, Indiana
12. 8cent Corey Bevard	Litchfield, Michigan
13. 42	Roger Mills	Bloomingdale, Indiana
14. 63	Troy Stewart 	Albion, Indiana
15. 8	Jim Mallory	Moorsville, Indiana
16. 76	John Halsey	Huntington, Indiana
17. 77	Bill Bradley	Marion, Indiana
18. 15J	Jami Cale	Huntington, Indiana
19. 116	Jimmie Haager	Eaton, Ohio
20. 24	Zeke McKenzie	North Manchester, Indiana
B Main: (Top 5 To A Main)
6. 10	Brent Davis	Montpelier, Indiana
7. 24	Terry Grilliot	Versailles, Ohio
8. 22	Greg Pitts	Sheridan, Indiana
9. 75	Steve Billenstein New Weston, Ohio
Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #F16 Jake Ruefer
2nd Heat - #92 Bill Haager
3rd Heat - #7W Bill Lewis
Super Streets
                14 Entries
 A Main:
1. 22T	Tony Anderson	Bluffton, Ohio
2. J1	Jeff Matheny	Brownsville, Indiana
3. H0	Lee Hobbs	Mitchell, Indiana
4. 50	Al Grogg		Bluffton, Indiana
5. 21K	James Kepling	McComb, Ohio
6. 86	Luke Timmerman St. Henry, Ohio
7. T5X	Bub Roberts	Warren, Indiana
8. 22R	Richard Williams Portland, Indiana
9. 8S	Rob Scarrette	New Paris, Ohio
10. 9	Jamie Heiser	Fort Recovery, Ohio
11. 1	Tony Homan	Celina, Ohio
12. R1	Ryan Ramseyer	
13. 73	Jeff Baldauf	Portland, Indiana
14. 44Z	Rick Zimmerman	 Connersville, Indiana


Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #22T Tony Anderson
2nd Heat - #
J1 Jeff Matheny
          Thunder Cars
                                13 Entries
A Main:
1. 50	Jason Shrout	Marion, Indiana
2. 17	Steve Mills	Portland, Indiana
3. 83	Travis Nichols	Portland, Indiana
4. 71F	Rick Frasure	Hartford City, Indiana
5. 14H	Lonnie Hughes 	Silver Lake, Indiana
6. 27H	Mike Hoagland	Warsaw, Indiana
7. 91K	Mike Oler	Liberty, Indiana
8. 73	Brian Baldauf	Portland, Indiana
9. 9	Robert Howell	
10. 88	Randy Koughn	Huntington, Indiana
11. 7	Donnie Derry	Marion, Indiana
12. 87X	Brad Keith	Muncie, Indiana
13. 42	Scott Fishbaugh	Van Buren, Indiana

Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #50 Jason Shrout
2nd Heat - #
14H Lonnie Hughes
             Mod Lites
                                9 Entries
A Main:
1. 26 Gary Griffith
2. 5 Gary Gipson
3. 6 Chad Clay
4. 14 Tim Vangundy
5. 11 Willie McFarland
6. 98 Dan Smith
7. 56 Rob Brenner
8. 95 Todd Padgett
9. 22 Taylor Arnold
Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #5 Gary Gipson


  Next Event:  Saturday, August 6

UMP Modifieds | Super Streets | Thunder Cars | Mod Lites

Montpelier Motor Speedway - 700 South Jefferson Street - Montpelier, Indiana 47359

Owners & Promoters - Harold & Lori Hunter

Track Phone 765-728-8210

Hit Counter