Main Menu


All Time Career Wins


Track Champions


2011 Montpelier Motor Speedway Results

August 6, 2011

Sherman Scores Career Montpelier Motor Speedway Win #49  in UMP Modified Action.  Matheny, Shrout, and Gipson Return To Victory Lane on August 6.
Competing for a National UMP Modified Championship, Todd Sherman firmly landed TeamSE chassis back into victory lane picking up the feature win over a 26 car field.  When the green flag waved over the 20 lap feature, Roanoke’s Jake Ruefer jumped to the lead using his pole position starting spot.  2 time 2011 Montpelier race winner Andy Bishop fought back on the topside and by lap 2 had the momentum to lead the next circuit from the top shelf.  Ruefer and Bishop battled it out in a side by side battle for the next three circuits before Sherman made it a three car battle.  Sherman made it three wide out of turn 2 using the extreme high side and rocketed down the back stretch to grab the lead and lead the remainder of the 20 lap event.  Ruefer and Bishop continued their tight battle throughout the feature with Ruefer beating Bishop to the stripe by about a foot.  St. Marys, Ohio’s, Casey Luedeke, posted another successful outing at the Montpelier Motor Speedway posting a fourth place finish with Greg Pitts rounding out the top 5.  Jim Haager won the B Main and heat races were won by Bishop, Ruefer, and Pitts.  Sherman, the current all-time winner at the speedway, posted his 49th UMP Modifed win at the speedway, and as of last week’s national standings, ranked 8th in the Nation.   Sherman is currently the point’s leader at the Speedway followed by Tony Anderson, JR Ruefer, Jim Haager, and Bill Haager.  Troy Stewart and Terry Grilliot are currently battling for the 2011 Montpelier Motor Speedway Rookie of the Year award.   
Mod Lite action again found Gary Gipson and Gary Griffith battling it out for the feature win and Indiana Mod Lite Association point’s lead.  The feature found Gipson and Griffith on the front row, and when the green flag waved, Gipson jumped out to the lead as Griffith began pursuit.  Spencer, Indiana’s Dan Smith grabbed the third position and made it a tight three way battle for the top 3 positions.  Gipson with a smooth line and a clean track piloted his way to his 3rd victory of the 2011 season.   Griffith, Smith, Chad Clay, and Rob Brenner rounded out the top 5.
Jeff Matheny scored Montpelier win #3 for the 2011 season picking up the Super Street feature win.  Matheny grabbed the lead from the pole leading every circuit of the 15 lap feature.  Scott Gaff, of Auburn, Indiana, made his 2011 Montpelier Motor Speedway debut mounting a strong challenge and ultimately finishing in the runner-up position.  Tony Anderson finished third with Jeff Baldauf and Luke Timmerman rounding out the top 5.  Heat races were won by Matheny and Baldauf.  Anderson is currently the point’s leader followed by Matheny, Timmerman, Baldauf, and Bub Roberts.  Roberts and Jamie Heiser are currently 1-2 for the Montpelier Motor Speedway 2011 Rookie of the Year.
In Thunder Stock action, Marion Indiana’s Jason Shrout picked up his second consecutive win and third win of the 2011 season.  Shrout grabbed the lead from the drop of the green flag. Warsaw Indiana’s, Mike Hoagland, mounted a strong effort for the evening before a flat right rear would end heat winner Hoagland’s night early.  Travis Nichols mounted a strong challenge deep in the feature getting beside Shrout, but was never able to complete the pass.  Shrout picked up the win with Nichols in second.  2008 Montpelier winner, Tony Bowman finished third with Rick Frasure and Jeff Baldauf rounding out the top 5.   Nichols currently remains the point’s leader by 18 points over Shrout followed by Steve Mills, Frasure, and Lonnie Hughes
The Montpelier Motor Speedway will next be in action on August 13th hosting a USAC Midget Triple Header featuring the Mopar D1, Ford Focus, and Ford Focus Young Gun Midgets.  The UMP Modifieds, Super Streets, and Thunder Cars will also be back in action.  General admission is $10 with Kids (12 and Under) free with a paid adult.  Hot Laps begin at 6 with Racing at 7.
UMP Modifieds
                     26 Entries
 A Main:

1. 65	Todd Sherman	Churubusco, Indiana
2. F16	Jake Ruefer	Roanoke, Indiana
3. 2	Andy Bishop	Gas City, Indiana
4. L5	Casey Luedke	St. Marys, Ohio
5. 22	Greg Pitts	Sheridan, Indiana
6. 96	JR Ruefer	Roanoke, Indiana
7. 18	Jim Coffey	Richmond, Indiana
8. 22T	Tony Anderson	Bluffton, Ohio
9. 16H	Jim Haager	Richmond, Indiana
10. 3M	Lonnie McIntyre	Decatur, Indiana
11. 24	Zeke McKenzie	North Manchester, Indiana
12. 4S	Doug St Myers	Redkey, Indiana
13. 43	Eric Morris	Hartford City, Indiana
14. 17M	Kevin McCarty	Peru, Indiana
15. 23C	Ryan Cripe	North Manchester, Indiana
16. 6S	Brent Sutton	Shirley, Indiana
17. 10	Brent Davis	Montpelier, Indiana
18. 92	Bill Haager	Richmond, Indiana
19. 88	Scott Orr               Columbia City, Indiana
20. 188	Aaron Orr	Columbia City, Indiana

B Main: (Top 5 To A Main)
6. 63	Troy Stewart 
7. 25	Josh Lolmaugh
8. 77	Ronnie Lewis 
9. 77	Bill Bradley
10. 17T	Michael Tarlton
11. 4	Brandon McComas

Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #2 Andy Bishop
2nd Heat - #F16 Jake Ruefer
3rd Heat - #22 Greg Pitts
Super Streets
                11 Entries
 A Main:
1. J1	Jeff Matheny	Brownsville, Indiana
2. 11	Scott Gaff	Auburn, Indiana
3. 22T	Tony Anderson	Bluffton, Ohio
4. 73	Jeff Baldauf	Portland, Indiana
5. 86	Luke Timmerman St. Henry, Ohio
6. 21K	James Kepling	McComb, Ohio
7. T5X	Bub Roberts 	Warren, Indiana
8. 22R	Richard Williams Portland, Indiana
9. 9	Jamie Heiser	Fort Recovery, Ohio
10. R1	Ryan Ramseyer	
11. 77	Ryan Bell	Warren, Indiana


Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #J1 Jeff Matheny
2nd Heat - #
73 Jeff Baldauf
          Thunder Cars
                                12 Entries
A Main:
1. 50	Jason Shrout	Marion, Indiana
2. 83	Travis Nichols	Portland, Indiana
3. 56	Tony Bowman	
4. 71F	Rick Frasure	Hartford City, Indiana
5. 9	Jeff Bauldauf	Portland, Indiana
6. 73	Brian Baldauf	Portland, Indiana
7. 7L 	Sam Landis	Logansport, Indiana
8. 42	Scott Fishbaugh	Van Buren, Indiana
9. 0G	Gerald Owens	
10. 27H	Mike Hoagland	Warsaw, Indiana
11. 17	Steve Mills	Portland, Indiana
12. 14H	Lonnie Hughes 	Silver Lake, Indiana

Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #27H Mike Hoagland
2nd Heat - #50 Jason Shrout
             Mod Lites
                                8 Entries
A Main:
1. 5 Gary Gipson - Sheridan, Indiana
2. 26 Gary Griffith - Hillsboro, Ohio
3. 98 Dan Smith - Spencer, Indiana
4. 6 Chad Clay - Elkhart, Indiana
5. 56 Rob Brenner - Lebanon, Indiana
6. 95 Todd Padgett - Lebanon, Indiana
7. 11 Willie McFarland - Zionsville, Indiana
8. 14 Tim Vangundy - Camby, Indiana
Heat Winners
1st Heat -  #26 Gary Griffith


  Next Event:  Saturday, August 13

USAC Midget Triple Header
Mopar D1 Midgets | Ford Focus Midgets | Ford Focus Young Guns
UMP Modifieds | Super Streets | Thunder Cars

Montpelier Motor Speedway - 700 South Jefferson Street - Montpelier, Indiana 47359

Owners & Promoters - Harold & Lori Hunter

Track Phone 765-728-8210

Hit Counter